Minutes of the meeting of the European Regional Committee of the *Bernoulli Society* held in Lisboa on 23rd August 2007

1. Welcome and apologies for absence

Present: Marie Hušková (past chair), Roel Braekers (proxy for Ingrid Van Keilegom), Antonia Turkman, Adelchi Azzalini (chair), Melanie Birke (proxy for Holger Dette), Jon Forster, Martin Janžura, Juan Romo, Holger Rootzén (proxy for Tobias Rydén), Jacek Wesolowski.

Guests: Peter Jagers (President of the Bernoulli Society), Trevor Sweeting (chair of SPC of EMS-2009)

2. Minutes of the meeting in Toruń (2006)

Accepted

3. Reports on the organisation of forthcoming events

EYSM-2007: Juan Romo reports on the organisation of the 15th European Young Statisticians Meeting, which is going to be held in Castro Urdiales (Spain) on 10–14 September 2007. The arrangements of the meeting are essentially complete, with 40 expected participants from 20 European countries.

EMS-2009: Trevor Sweeting reports on the initial steps of the Scientific Program Committee of 27th EMS to be held in Toulouse in 2009; an analogous written report has been received from Jean-Claude Fort, chair of the Local Organizing Committee.

4. Proposal for EMS-2010

The idea of holding an EMS in 2010 had been launched because no such meeting will take place in 2011 and 2012, to avoid coincidence with other major events, namely the ISI 2011 Session in Dublin and the *Bernoulli Society* World Congress in 2012; hence the next possible date would 2013 leading to a very long gap from 2009. An earlier meeting in 2010 was therefore perceived to be appropriate.

A specific proposal to host the EMS-2010 at his university has been put forward by Professor K. V. Koutras, head of the Department of Statistics of the University of Piraeus, Greece. The proposal has been complemented by a detailed description of the facilities available locally and other relevant information. The ERC unanimously find that the proposal meets the conditions required for such a meeting, and gives its approval, with the request that the dates of the EMS are chosen in the second half of August 2010; it is recommended to avoid overlap with other major meetings, if possible.

5. Candidates for the ERC members to replace those retiring in 2008

The elected chairperson of ERC is Aad W. van der Vaart (Vrije Universiteit, The Netherlands). The names of the other ERC members proposed for the period 2008-2012 are: László Márkus (Hungary), Carlos Braumann (Portugal), Peter Bühlmann (Switzerland), Gerda Claeskens (Belgium), Ludwig Fahrmeir (Germany), Rasmus Waagepetersen (Denmark), Simos Meintanis (Greece); the actual nomination is subject to their own acceptance and BS membership.

The new members will replace the members ending their period of service in mid-2008, namely: Marie Hušková, Ingrid Van Keilegom, Sara van de Geer, Zoran Vondracek, Andras Zempleni, Antonia Turkman, Eva Vendel Jensen, Jürg Huesler.

It is envisaged that the new Conference Committe will be composed by Martin Janžura (Programme Coordinator), Ludwig Fahrmeir and Tobias Rydén.

6. Any other business

The decision on where to hold the next meeting of the ERC is postponed, considering that several members could not attend and people acting as proxy feel inappropriate to decide for the actual members.