Minutes of the ERC Skype meeting on 21 December 2015

Present: Richard Samworth (Chair), Jesus Lopez Fidalgo, Niels Hansen, Mihael Perman, Jesus Lopez Fidalgo, Ernst Wit

- 1. The minutes of the last meeting on 7 July 2015 were approved.
- 2. Some votes had been received for the incoming ERC chair, but it was decided to wait until 12 noon GMT on Tuesday 22 December to allow more time for ERC members to cast their votes. RJS will then contact the person with the most votes to confirm willingness to act as chair for two years from 1 January 2017. The ERC nomination must be approved by the Bernoulli Society Executive Committee, in consultation with the Council and with the approval of the General Assembly.

ACTION: ALL who have not yet cast their votes should do so by 12 noon GMT on Tuesday 22 December. RJS will confirm willingness to act as chair and will communicate the ERC's nomination to the Bernoulli Society Executive Committee.

3. Patrick Wolfe (UCL) and Eric Kolaczyk (Boston University) are confirmed lectures for SemStat 2016 on *Network Analysis*. A third lecturer has unfortunately withdrawn, and EW is currently seeking a replacement.

Causal inference was chosen as the topic for the December 2017 SemStat. Possible lecturers suggested were Marloes Maathuis (ETH Zürich), Vanessa Didelez (Bristol), Jonas Peters (Tübingen), Nicolai Meinshausen (ETH Zürich) and Stijn Vansteelandt (Ghent)

ACTION: EW to seek a replacement lecturer for SemStat 2016, and to approach possible lecturers for SemStat 2017.

- 4. The EMS 2015 report has not yet been received from Marc Hallin, who was chair of the Scientific Programme Committee. It will be circulated when available.
- 5. RJS confirmed that the Scientific Programme Committee for EMS 2017 in Helsinki will be: Ingrid van Keilegom (chair), Niels Hansen (programme coordinator), Jyrki Mattinen (local organising committee representative), Gérard Biau, Teresa Ledwina, Gabor Lugosi and Laura Sangalli.
- 6. RJS confirmed that a few expressions of interest had been received for hosting EMS 2019, but that no bids had been received as yet. The deadline for receipt of bids is 31 January 2016.

ACTION EW to contact representatives of previous bids/expressions of interest, including Sweden and Moscow.

- 7. RJS confirmed that the EYSM 2017 will be held in Upsalla, Sweden, and that the contact person is Måns Thulin.
- 8. It was felt that the ERC did not need to change its working practices in the light of the revised Bernoulli Society statutes.

9. RJS confirmed that Maria Eduarda Silva, Presidente of the Portuguese Statistical Society, had written to let him know that Feridum Turkman had asked to be replaced on the ERC. Although it is formally for the ERC to choose a replacement, she had suggested Paulo Eduardo Oliveira, and the committee elected him as a replacement for Feridum Turkman.

ACTION: RJS to write to Paulo Eduardo Oliveira to invite him to join the ERC, and to ask for the ERC website to be updated accordingly.

10. There were no items of other business.